crafting is sanity

DIY or die.

Ramen Burger!

on October 14, 2013

Another quick detour from my usual crafting posts but I have always been a ramen lover – I’m so lucky to live in L.A. where I have access to the Little Osaka area (Sawtelle Blvd.) and Little Tokyo to satisfy all my ramen cravings! A few months ago (I think), the ramen burger made its debut – and boy was it a big splash! People were waiting 4 HOURS for a taste of a ramen burger! Crazy.

But then ramen burger recipes kept popping up all over the web and I decided to try it myself. I generally followed the recipe from Mashable.

And here it is!

Ramen burger!

Ramen burger!

Doesn’t it look delicious?? I made mine with a soy patty because I don’t eat beef and it was very yummy.

I cooked the ramen, scooped it out and divided it in half, and mixed it with an egg.

IMG_0359

After mixing well, I separated each “bun” into small bowls and covered it with some plastic wrap.

IMG_0360

Then I stacked a can on top, which happened to be a can of pumpkin puree (excited for fall recipes!)

IMG_0361

Then I stuck them in the fridge for about 20 minutes. And this is what they looked like when I took the cans off:

The cans I used weren't quite wide enough so they left that ring, but it didn't really affect the buns

The cans I used weren’t quite wide enough so they left that ring, but it didn’t really affect the buns

Then comes the cooking!

IMG_0363

All it needs is a few minutes on each side to cook the egg thoroughly and hold the noodles together. I flipped once and I started assembling my burger.

IMG_0364

Ramen bun, soy patty, a fried egg and some chopped lettuce. I didn’t want to add too many toppings and have the whole thing be too difficult to eat.

IMG_0365

A squeeeeeze of ketchup and slap the other bun on top!

IMG_0367

Done!! I took A LOT more pictures because I was so freaking proud of my ramen burger but I won’t bore you guys with them. Okay maybe a few :)

From the top

From the top

Yum yum!

Yum yum!

I must say, it was pretty delicious! The only complaint I would have is that it got quite messy towards the end because the buns started falling apart and boy oh boy, it was SOOOO filling! I most definitely felt a giant food coma afterwards. I’m glad I made the ramen burger and didn’t wait in line for 4 hours for it but I don’t think this will be a regular menu item for me. :)

-Yenny

2 responses to “Ramen Burger!

  1. Awesome post! Now I’m hungry for ramen – what brand ramen noodle do you use?

  2. Yenny says:

    Lol Wandy you’re becoming my blog’s #1 commenter! I just used the regular Top Ramen packet from the dollar store :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

