crafting is sanity

DIY or die.

Oven Roasted Brussels Sprouts

on November 5, 2013

Happy November!

Just sharing a quick post on some thing I recently experimented with. I never grew up eating brussels sprouts but I always saw on TV that people reacted quite badly to them! The Friends Thanksgiving episode where everyone is late and Monica locks them all out but the only dish they have is the brussels sprouts – classic! Love Friends :)

But they seem to have undergone a popularity surge and are popping up everywhere in restaurants and on Pinterest so I decided to try them out on my own. I bought frozen brussels sprouts from Trader Joe’s and did a little cooking.

Blanched these for 2-3 minutes

Blanched these for 2-3 minutes

Then I cut them all in half

Then I cut them all in half

Then I tossed them all in a bowl with some melted butter, salt and pepper

Then I tossed them all in a bowl with some melted butter, salt and pepper

I tossed them in the butter mixture for a while, then I spread them out on a cookie sheet to go into the oven. I sprinkled togarashi (Japanese chili powder), garlic powder and onion powder on top before putting them in the oven. I don’t remember exactly how long I roasted them for – I checked after 15 and 20 minutes and pulled them out when it looked done.

Fresh out of the oven!

Fresh out of the oven!

They were pretty darn delicious! I’ve made them several times since them – using both frozen and fresh brussels sprouts. I noticed that fresh ones take a little longer in the oven and the frozen ones don’t get as crispy but both are still yummy!

Happy cooking!

Yenny

 

 

 

2 responses to “Oven Roasted Brussels Sprouts

  1. Good idea with the togarashi! For fresh ones did you also blanche them?

    • Wandy you’re so funny! I can’t believe you’re following my blog haha :) Yes, I blanched the fresh ones too, just to cook them a little and get them that nice green color and to help peel the outer layer off :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

