crafting is sanity

DIY or die.

Chambray Shirt Re-do

on November 21, 2013

Hello again!

Just another quick post before the Thanksgiving festivities start. Have you ever been shopping and found something you really really like but there’s ONE little detail that bugs the crap out of you?? Trust me, we’ve all been there. Luckily, growing up with my seamstress mom meant that I had learned to be able to see what could be fixed on a piece of clothing and what couldn’t. :)

Enter this chambray shirt:

I had been looking for a chambray shirt for weeks now!

I had been looking for a chambray shirt for weeks now!

I snagged this one at Macy’s on their clearance rack! I love the very faint rose/floral background. So feminine! I was NOT into the bejeweled collar.

The "jewels" were very loosely sewn on and I thought they looked tacky

The “jewels” were very loosely sewn on and I thought they looked tacky

So I went rip rip rip with my seam ripper and….

Voila! No more bejeweled collar!

Voila! No more bejeweled collar!

I also really love how this shirt has snaps instead of buttons

I also really love how this shirt has snaps instead of buttons

And the best part of this was the price!

$7.19 down from $34.50!!

$7.19 down from $34.50!!

I LOVE Macy’s clearance racks and all the coupons they send out!! Such good deals to be found!

Happy shopping!

-Yenny

 

 

 


2 responses to “Chambray Shirt Re-do

  1. Chambray shirt = new word of the day for me! I even looked it up in Wikipedia and am still confused. Is it like a special kind of cotton shirt?

    Either way – yes it is a million times better without the tacky jewels! I too love bargain hunting (esp since i have Ross and TJMaxx in walking distance … and now Nordstroms Rack too a little farther away) it’s like a game to find the good stuff out of all the junk :)

    • Wandy you are too funny! Chambray is like really really soft and thin denim! :) (at least, that’s what I think it is…)

      I also LOVE Ross, Marshall’s and TJ Maxx! Digging through stuff and finding that deal is so fun! I totally love how the Nordstrom Rack moved to the Westfield, although its bad for my wallet…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

