crafting is sanity

DIY or die.

DIY Christmas Wreath

on December 2, 2013

Happy December! I can’t believe its almost the end of the year! This year I’ve been more in the Christmas spirit and wanting to make a more traditional wreath for my door. Last year, I did a candy cane wreath and the only problem I had with that is that it rained and melted some of my candy canes and attracted ants! Not this year!

Ta da!

Ta da!

I LOVE IT SO SO MUCH. :) This is how I started:

Supplies from the 99cents store

Supplies from the 99cents store!

I got 4 things from the trusty 99cents store: 12 feet of roping, two holiday-looking sticks and that glittery snowflake made of bells.

IMG_0529

IMG_0530

IMG_0531

I unrolled the roping to make it into a bigger wreath, using my wreath form as a guide.

This is was easy since the roping is wired! It holds its own shape and I twisted it back on itself.

This is was easy since the roping is wired! It holds its own shape and I twisted it back on itself.

Then I figured out the placement of the decorations and since I didn’t have any dark yarn or twine to attach them to the wreath, I MacGyvered “yarn” out of black thread:

I just double the thread back and forth until I got something substantial enough to work

I just doubled the thread back and forth until I got something substantial enough to work

Placement is decided!

Placement is decided!

The sticks were a bit long so I bent them back (I couldn’t cut them off since my scissors couldn’t cut through the surprisingly sturdy wire!)

I hooked them onto each other for more sturdiness

I hooked them onto each other for more sturdiness

Everything is held on by my black thread-yarn, which worked surprisingly well! I tied the snowflake onto the red ribbon like so:

This way it's centered!

This way it’s centered!

Now for some pictures!

It was surprisingly sunny today so the pictures are a little bright

It was surprisingly sunny today so the pictures are a little bright

I love that poinsettia with the berries!

I love that poinsettia with the berries!

Glittery snowflake!

Glittery snowflake!

Here’s the wreath in the evening:

So warm and festive!

So warm and festive!

IMG_0557

IMG_0558

Project Breakdown:

Wreath supplies: $4 from the 99cents store

Ribbon & thread: Already had

This was by far the easiest and cheapest wreath I’ve ever made! SO much fun and I made sure that I could take it apart and reuse the material for next year!

Happy holidays!

-Yenny

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 responses to “DIY Christmas Wreath

  1. I love shopping at the 99 cent store too — and I love that you took those ingredients and made something so spectacular! I’m going to take jose to my local dollar store and see what they have there … (there is one in the corner of the mall there Toys R Us and Pier 1 are)

  2. […] been lagging on making a new spring wreath for my door – after I took down my Christmas wreath, I just hung my old jingle wreath as a placeholder. But I finally got my butt in gear and made a […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

