crafting is sanity

DIY or die.

Chocolate Tart

on December 19, 2013

A few of my friends and I got together to have a potluck before the holiday craze started and at first, there were more of us going! But 3 of them ended up having to be out of town/were busy for various reasons but I still ended up making 3 different dishes for the potluck! And I’m glad I did! It gave me a chance to try recipes I had pinned but never had an occasion to make. Enter this chocolate tart:

Not as smooth as I wanted it to turn out =/

Not as smooth as I wanted it to turn out =/

I got the recipe from Pinterest, as usual but never thought I would get a chance to make it since I didn’t have a tart pan and had no plans to buy one anytime soon. But I borrowed a tart pan from my coworker and made this tart!

Ingredients! I ended up not using sugar at all

Ingredients! I ended up not using sugar at all

I definitely modified the recipe a little – I always reduce the sugar when I bake and in this case, I omitted it completely. I also scrapped the corn syrup for the glaze on top. Another change was that I had an 11 inch tart pan and the recipe called for a 9 inch one.

Start by crushing the graham crackers-

IMG_0561

I throw them into a ziploc bag and just crush with a rolling pin

I throw them into a ziploc bag and just crush with a rolling pin

Melt the butter

Melt the butter

Throw the crushed graham crackers in

Throw the crushed graham crackers in

And press into the pan and bake!

Because the pan I used was wider than what the recipe called for, I had to crush some extra crackers to cover the bottom and sides

Because the pan I used was wider than what the recipe called for, I had to crush some extra crackers to cover the bottom and sides

While the crust was baking, I started making the filling:

IMG_0567

I used evaporated milk instead of heavy whipping cream

I used evaporated milk instead of heavy whipping cream

And tossed the chocolate in after the milk had come to a boil.

All melted! Then add in eggs, vanilla and salt

All melted! Then add in eggs, vanilla and salt

I slowly spooned the filling into the crust because I was scared that if I had poured the filling in, the crust would’ve gone all over the place!

So smooth and shiny! But not for long...

So smooth and shiny! But not for long…

This is what the tart looked like after it finished baking:

It ended up getting a few bubbles on the surface :(

It ended up getting a few bubbles on the surface :(

So I proceeded to make the glaze, hoping that it would cover the bubbles. This is where I completely changed the recipe. I usually make a ganache from just butter and chocolate and it turns out great! So I tried making a ganache with the remaining evaporated milk and 4 ounces of chocolate. I also threw some butter in.

My makeshift double boiler

My makeshift double boiler

After everything melted together, I spooned the glaze on top:

It looks much much smoother, but not perfect

It looks much much smoother, but not perfect

Sliced!

Sliced!

So the crust didn’t quite stay intact all the way but it was still delicious! It had that great dark-chocolatey flavor where its slightly bitter. Great texture, almost fudgey! It lasts for a very long time in the fridge – I brought the leftovers in to work and we ate it for about 4 days.

I had a lot of fun baking this tart – but I don’t know if I’d make it again in such a large pan!

I’ll be sharing the other 2 dishes I made later on – most likely in 2014!

Happy holidays!

-Yenny

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One response to “Chocolate Tart

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

