crafting is sanity

DIY or die.

Hawaiian Roll Sliders

on January 16, 2014

Happy (super belated) New Year!! Wow, my first post of 2014! I meant to post way closer to the beginning of January, but oh well, here we are!

As you may remember from my chocolate tart post, I made 3 dishes for a holiday potluck with my friends. This is the 2nd dish I made – Hawaiian Roll Sliders!

Unbaked!

Unbaked!

Ok so I have no good pictures of the finished product because we were too busy eating it so please bear with my less than awesome pictures :P. I got the recipe from Pinterest, of course and thought it would be super fun and easy to make for the potluck! I did make some changes, some worked and some did not. I omitted the poppy seeds and the Worcestershire sauce, mainly because I didn’t want to buy them lol

Gather your ingredients

Gather your ingredients – Hawaiian rolls, onion powder, dijon mustard, butter, ham, and swiss cheese

The Hawaiian rolls came in a pack of 12, but that didn’t fit into my pan, so I only used 9 rolls. I sliced them in half horizontally like so

IMG_0588

Then I made a mixture of dijon mustard, onion powder, butter and a little soy sauce (in place of the Worcestershire sauce). Smear it on-

I really got it into the nooks and crannies of the bread

I really got it into the nooks and crannies of the bread

Then start layering the ham and swiss:

First layer of ham

First layer of ham

Ok so I went a LITTLE overboard with the cheese because I didn't want to have any leftovers (BAD IDEA)

Ok so I went a LITTLE overboard with the cheese because I didn’t want to have any leftovers (BAD IDEA)

I layered more ham on top and for my second layer of cheese, I went a little lighter

This is what I should've done for the first layer as well lol

This is what I should’ve done for the first layer as well lol

I smeared more of the mustard onion mixture onto the tops of the rolls

IMG_0593

I made these the night before! Covered the pan with foil and brought them to the potluck to be served there. I think the mustard-onion mix had a chance to really soak in overnight.

After baking!

After baking!

I threw it in the oven at 350 degrees for about 20 minutes and I left it covered. That was enough to get the cheese melty, but it wasn’t really hot enough all the way through. Then use a good knife and slice along the bread separations to eat!

IMG_0610

IMG_0611

 

You see how there’s SO MUCH CHEESE in the middle?? That’s where I made my mistake! Definitely should’ve went lighter on the cheese (and ham too) I didn’t want ham leftover either so I used the whole pack :P Again, BAD IDEA lol. The sliders were good, but on the saltier side! I also didn’t drizzle anything over the sliders. The mustard-onion mixture was great though!

If I make these again, and I probably will – I would use less cheese and less ham and bake it for a longer amount of time. So basically, I would suck it up and have leftovers and not be so impatient and hungry to eat :)

If you decide to make these, I hope my mistakes help you!

Happy cooking!

-Yenny

 

 

2 responses to “Hawaiian Roll Sliders

  1. Wow this is hard core meat and cheese :) Sure looks fun and yummy for pot luck! I wonder how i could incorporate some veggies in it .. tomato slices? ooo maybe pineapple?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

