crafting is sanity

DIY or die.

Pao de Queijo (Brazilian Cheese Bread)

on February 5, 2014

Happy February!

Continuing my posts about the dishes I made for my holiday potluck! Today is the third and final thing I made! And I totally cheated for this one :) My friend Wandy had brought Pao de Queijo for another potluck I had been to and it was so deliciously yummy and easy when I found out that she had used a mix, I was sold!

This is the mix I found at the Brazilian grocery store

This is the mix I found at the Brazilian grocery store

Luckily in my neighborhood, there’s a Brazilian grocery store that has the mix. Unfortunately the directions were in Portuguese:

My Spanish knowledge wasn't super helpful here

My Spanish knowledge wasn’t super helpful here :(

Google translate to the rescue!

Not 100% exact, but good enough for me to follow!

Not 100% exact, but good enough for me to follow!

Here are the instructions:

1. Pour contents of bag into a medium bowl and add 1/2 cup of cold water and 2 medium eggs.

2. Mix well until all liquid is absorbed. Knead dough for about 3 minutes, or until smooth and incorporated.

3. Pinch and roll into balls (I did about 1.25 inch diameter) and place onto baking sheet. Make sure to leave room in between.

4. Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit and bake for 40 minutes or until they are golden.

Step 1 - pour the mix into a bowl

Step 1 – pour the mix into a bowl

 

Step 2 - add eggs and water

Step 2 – add eggs and water

 

Step 3 - mix!

Step 3 – mix!

 

Ready to go into the oven!

Ready to go into the oven!

I don’t remember exactly how long I baked them, but it wasn’t for the whole 40 minutes as suggested in the instructions. I checked on them after about 30 minutes and they were ready!

So fluffy n the inside with a great crunch on the outside!

So fluffy and chewy on the inside with a great crunch on the outside!

Yum yum!

Yum yum!

I wish I had taken a picture of the inside so you could’ve seen the chewiness/fluffiness! Oh well, maybe next time! I’ve seen many recipes on Pinterest for Pao de Queijo made from scratch but I don’t think I want to spend that much time to make it when the mix is so simple and tastes great to me!

Thank you Wandy for introducing me to Pao de Queijo mix and for always reading my blog! :)

 

-Yenny

 

 

 

 

 

2 responses to “Pao de Queijo (Brazilian Cheese Bread)

  1. Oh wow i think i’m going to have to get some more mix and make more too! I love that you stop to take photos in between steps. I am always in a hurry and only have pictures of the final product. Gotta slow down and smell the flour :)

    • While I was writing the post, I totally wanted to make more too! So yum! I force myself to take step by step pictures so its easier to write about later :D

      On Wed, Feb 5, 2014 at 11:23 AM, crafting is sanity wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

