crafting is sanity

DIY or die.

DIY Spring Yarn Wreath

on March 6, 2014

Happy (almost) spring!

I’ve been lagging on making a new spring wreath for my door – after I took down my Christmas wreath, I just hung my old jingle wreath as a placeholder. But I finally got my butt in gear and made a new wreath!

 

My fave color! :)

My fave color! :)

I once again used my straw wreath form that I’ve used countless times (as you can tell from the Sharpie marks) and some leftover yellow yarn I found while cleaning out my room at my parents’ house.

IMG_0778

Hot glue the end of the yarn and start wrapping! I had forgotten HOW LONG wrapping a wreath form in yarn takes!! I think it took me about 1.5 hours over 2 days. I wanted to make sure I covered the black markers completely since I was using such a light colored yarn.

All wrapped!

All wrapped!

Then I gathered some leftover burlap and yellow fabric from my burlap & flower wreath. I really liked how the burlap flowers turned out from here but when I actually tried to make them, I wasn’t very successful =/ I don’t know what went wrong! But maybe my burlap knit was too loose… So I just made up some flowers of my own!

I tried to make different sizes

I tried to make different sizes

It started out with the same method as the original link, but I just twisted and hot glued whenever I felt it looked pretty. I think the yellow ones are a little flat but they were a lot easier to work with than the burlap! Burlap sheds EVERYWHERE.

I hot glued them on in a pattern I liked

I hot glued them on in a pattern I liked

And used the same yellow fabric to hang it up!

I added the bow after because I thought it needed a little more cuteness

I added the bow after because I thought it needed a little more cuteness

Snip snip!

So cute!

So cute!

I took these pictures at night when I finished and hung the wreath. I literally take my floor lamp outside and take pictures :D But I like the warm tones!

IMG_0789

Then I took some more pictures in the daylight:

IMG_0796

IMG_0794

 

I love it!

Best thing about this was that it was all free! I already had the wreath form, yarn, burlap, yellow fabric and hot glue gun! If you didn’t have the supplies, it would probably cost you about $7-10. Still cheap and fun!

Happy crafting!

-Yenny

 

 

 


One response to “DIY Spring Yarn Wreath

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

