crafting is sanity

DIY or die.

DIY Toilet Paper Tube Art

on February 26, 2012

As you know, I am a big fan of Pinterest’s DIY & Crafts section and lately, there have been tons and tons of toilet paper tube artwork. For example:

OR

from the how to gal's blog 🙂

photo credit: thehowtogal

I LOVE looking at how everyone’s ideas and creativity and being inspired myself! So I had two ideas to use toilet paper tubes – 1. A structured form like the one from the how to gal for two of my paintings and 2. A larger free-form, sprawling piece for the last blank wall in my studio apartment. The first one is now done but I am a bit stuck on the larger piece so that reveal will come later.

Start by collecting empty toilet paper tubes and paper towel tubes. I work at an office so I collected all the paper towel tubes from there and I also had my coworkers save their empty tubes for me too! I now have a box FULL of tubes (probably WAY more than I need so I may freecycle the rest later). I decided to cut them into 1/2 inch strips.

Just a small portion of my 1/2 strips 🙂

Then I used my handy dandy hot glue gun to create the pattern that I wanted.

All glued together

Then I took the pieces home to my parents’ house to spray paint them (I did them at the same time as the shower caddy :))

I chose black for an "ironwork" effect

And the final step was to hang them up!

Voila!

I have two paintings that I did this for, so I made 4 separate toilet paper tube pieces. Not that my paintings looked BAD before my little craft addition but I think they look cuter now! I hung them using straight pins, the ones you use to alter clothes .

Things to keep in mind: the widths of toiler paper rolls and paper towel rolls are slightly different so it’s best to keep it consistent when making your art pieces. ( I learned this the hard way and ended up with lopsided flowers :()

My bigger toilet paper roll project is STILL in progress, because honestly, it’s a bit daunting! So please stay tuned and keep on crafting! 🙂

4 responses to “DIY Toilet Paper Tube Art

  1. Foxxy says:

    THIS IS SUPER CUTE!!!! i love the crafting/diy stuff on pinterest! i wanna try some stuff once i finally get some time, but this is the first time i’m seeing toilet roll art. ME GUSTA!

    -foxxy

  2. bonnie says:

    who would have thought

  3. […] the Pinterest universe and I’ve already jumped on the bandwagon once with some super simple toilet paper frames for a couple of my wall paintings. But THIS time, I had a new idea!! I was super inspired by Billie […]

Leave a Reply

