crafting is sanity

DIY or die.

DIY Yarn Wreath

on April 29, 2012

Hello all! After seeing so many wonderfully creative wreaths on Pinterest, I was inspired to make my own! I bought my wreath form and wreath hook from Joann’s online website – they were having 50% off all floral arranging supplies and free shipping with no minimum purchase! I ended up getting two wreath forms and the hook at about $1 each. Great deal!

So let’s start with the basics:

The yarn is leftover from various projects, so I decided not to buy new colors and use what I already had πŸ™‚

Step 1: Gather your supplies

I wanted to make a pattern of sorts so I measured and marked out segments on the wreath (which I left in the plastic). Put a dot of hot glue and secure the beginning of your yarn and begin wrapping! It starts out a bit slow since you have to move the yarn ball in and over the wreath as you wrap but I finished my wreath in an hour or 2. I was watching The Blind Side on tv at the time – good movie! Loved Sandra Bullock in it πŸ™‚

So you wrap and wrap and end up with this!

It kinda looks like those lifesaver buoys on a boat, huh?

As you can tell from the lighting, I finished the wreath at night. So I waited until the next morning to finish the embellishments!

Please ignore my microwave and hello kitty toaster in the background πŸ™‚

I made some super simple pom-poms and just tied them around my wreath and I’m super happy with the effect!!

On my door!

And there’s my finished product hanging on my apartment door!! I LOVE it!! And I sincerely hope none of my neighbors steal it >.< Although I don’t think they will πŸ™‚

Project Breakdown:

You need:

– wreath form (regular price around $3 at Joann’s for a 14-inch straw form)

– wreath hook (regular price around $2 at Joann’s)

– yarn

– hot glue

– ribbon

 

Time and patience!

 

Enjoy and happy crafting!!

 

Leave a Reply

