crafting is sanity

DIY or die.

The Naked Bear Project

on May 6, 2012

A few weeks ago, my lovely friend Duana asked me for a favor. She was planning an awesome baby shower for her daughter on May 19th and had bought a ginormous bear (from Costco, where else?) and wanted to fashion some sort of clothing for this poor naked bear.

Image

Please ignore my super messy apartment and naked futon! Costco says the bear is 53 inches tall but he’s actually MUCH bigger!! And VERY difficult to manuever!

Duana had the idea to make him a vest. The color scheme for the baby shower is blue and tan and so I went and picked up the bear and fabric and brought him home with me! Here he is in my car πŸ˜€

Image

It took me a couple of weeks, I made a practice vest first before actually cutting into the pretty fabric and now I’m finally done!! I am not 100% satisfied with the fit of the vest but as Duana keeps reminding me – it’s a bear, not a fashion show πŸ™‚ But if this was a Project Runway challenge, I would most definitely be sent home πŸ˜›

Image

And here he is!! In all his clothed glory πŸ™‚ I made a little boutonniere for him so he’s all nice and dapper πŸ™‚

Image

Cute, right? And its removeable too!

And here’s the back. The boutonniere is made out of the same fabric as the back fabric.

Image

And now he”s on his way back to Duana’s house to prepare for his big day at the baby shower!

Project breakdown:

Giant bear – Costco $30, Easter leftover plush sale πŸ™‚

Fabric – L.A. Fabric District from Michael Levine

And you need time, Β A LOT of patience, sewing machine and maybe some fabric to make a practice vest first πŸ™‚

UPDATE:

Duana sent me this picture of Mr. Bear’s debut! Isn’t he adorable?

Mr. Bear at the baby shower! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

