crafting is sanity

DIY or die.

DIY Fabric Wall Art

on October 1, 2012

Hello all! I’m back already! đŸ˜€ I’ve been obsessing over my wall art lately – especially the area over my futon which used to look like this:

Before – Not bad but not what I wanted anymore

I had these three 12×12 paintings that I got from Ross for $9.99, which served its purpose for a while but then I decided they were too small and red is just my least favorite color. I don’t what I was thinking when I bought them!

And the after!

After! Love it!!

This was a relatively easy project! I did a lot of research on ways to have large art without spending a fortune and finally decided on this method.

First, go to Home Depot (or Lowe’s or any other hardware store) and buy a sheet of rigid insulation. I bought the 3/4 inch thick 4ft by 8 ft sheet for $7.65.

Image courtesy of Home Depot

A super nice worker named Josh helped me cut the sheet down to size for me! I wanted 3 sheets of 20 inches by 36 inches (yes, I know, I was a pain in the butt) but he nicely cut it down to size for me. Then he asked for my number, which was a whole other story. This is what I ended up with:

5 sheets of 20 inches by 36 inches and some random odds and ends.

I also picked up a light duty staple gun and staples at Home Depot:

This staple gun is super light!

Then pick your fabrics. I’m lucky to live in L.A. right by the Fabric District. So I got these awesome fabrics at the Michael Levine Home Fabric Store.

Green Waverly Damask

and

Golden Celtic Knot

for $8.00/yard. I got 1 1/4 yard of the green and 1 yard of the golden. Then assemble everything and begin! Remember to IRON (or steam, like me) your fabric before you attach it to the foam! Measure and make sure everything is straight and aligned and your pattern is how you want it.

And staple away!

To hang them up, I hot glued ribbon to the back of the foam and that’s all it needed! Then measure and make sure your hooks/nails are level on the wall and hang them up!

You can see my flower poms!

Project Breakdown:

Fabric: 2 1/4 yards total – $18.00

Sheet of rigid insulation – $8.00

Staple gun – $10.00

Staples – $3

Total: $39.00 for 3 pieces of custom, personalized art!

Happy crafting!

-Yenny

One response to “DIY Fabric Wall Art

  1. […] I now have new kitchen art! I was eco-friendly again for this project and reused the canvasses that used to hang above my futon before I replaced them. […]

Leave a Reply

