crafting is sanity

DIY or die.

DIY Candy Cane Wreath

on December 7, 2012

Tis the season! Is everyone feeling the holiday spirit yet? Christmas decorations have been up in stores since before Halloween in my neck of the woods but I do not like to skip holidays (makes it quite unfair) so I didn’t make any Christmas-y crafts until December had officially started!

And ta-da!~

My candy cane wreath!

My candy cane wreath!

I followed the instructions from here but I had to make a few adjustments. But it was otherwise fairly simple! First, you start with the basic materials:

2 packs of candy canes and ribbon

2 packs of candy canes and ribbon

Then start hot glue-ing the candy canes back to back like so:

IMG_9470

I ran a line of hot glue down the center and then pressed them together. Once that dried, I added glue on both sides to really hold them together. Repeat this step for the rest of the candy canes and then arrange them!

Pretty, right?

Pretty, right?

But as I started to assemble the wreath and glue all the candy canes together, I quickly realized that I would need more reinforcements in order to keep this wreath together. The original instructions calls for 22 candy canes but I used all 24 that I had and STILL had a gap!

I used leftover white yarn to wrap the candy canes together. But see the gap??

I used leftover white yarn to wrap the candy canes together. But see the gap??

Also, the entire wreath was rather wobbly, so I cut leftover foam board that I had into small pieces and hot glued them to the back around the center ring to make it stronger.

Totally worked!

Totally worked!

Then I strung the ribbon through the reinforced center (luckily my ribbon was wide enough to hide the gap!) and hung it up.

I hung it indoors overnight to see if it would hold together and it did!

I hung it indoors overnight to see if it would hold together and it did!

Then the next morning it went onto my front door!

Added a bow in the middle and took off the bell (I didn't want it to rust)

Added a bow in the middle and took off the bell (I didn’t want it to rust)

It's not perfect, but I love it!

It’s not perfect, but I love it!

Project Breakdown

2 boxes of candy canes – $1 each at the 99cents store

3 inch red velvet ribbon – $3 for a 50ft spool at Big Lots

Yarn, foam board and hot glue – already owned.

This took me about 3 hours total, but I was watching tv while glue-ing so I worked mostly on commercial breaks.

Happy holidays and happy crafting!!

-Yenny

One response to “DIY Candy Cane Wreath

  1. […] the Christmas spirit and wanting to make a more traditional wreath for my door. Last year, I did a candy cane wreath and the only problem I had with that is that it rained and melted some of my candy canes and […]

Leave a Reply

