crafting is sanity

DIY or die.

How to Take in a Coat and Add a Bow

on January 14, 2013

My sister and I clean out our closets pretty often and we always go through each other’s rejects to see if there’s anything we want to steal from each other 🙂 So I got this gray coat from my sister:

Front

Front

Side: note the faux flap pocket - there are real pockets on the seam

Side: note the faux flap pocket – there are real pockets on the seam!

Back

Back

So there was nothing HORRIBLY wrong with the coat, it was just too big (my sister bought a medium for some reason) and I hated those faux flap pockets that had NO use. So I decided to fix it! The faux pockets were easy – I just used my seam ripper and detached the flaps. Then I started pinning darts in the back to make the coat more fitted.

I pinned it and adjusted it until the darts formed even pleats above and below the waistline

I pinned it and adjusted it until the darts formed even pleats above and below the waistline. Luckily my dress form is about the same size as me!

Close-up

Close-up

Then comes the fun part! Making the bow:

I used 2.25 inch wide grosgrain ribbon to make a 6 inch loop

I used 2.25 inch wide grosgrain ribbon to make a 6 inch loop

Then just pinch it in the middle and pin it to make the bow:

Just sew the bow in the middle to keep the pinched shape

Just sew the bow in the middle to keep the pinched shape

Now it’s time to make the little wrapping part of the ribbon to cover the middle and make everything pretty!

I just cut a length of ribbon , folded it into thirds and pinned it

I just cut a length of ribbon , folded it into thirds and pinned it

Sew it together and then wrap it around the middle of the bow. Sew that together and you basically get a bow-tie!

Cute, right?

Cute, right?

Then I sewed the coat and made the darts permanent. Make sure you keep your stitches small and neat so it doesn’t show up.

If your stitches do show, don't worry - that's what the bow is for!

If your stitches do show, don’t worry – that’s what the bow is for!

Then sew the bow on!

Ta-da!

Ta-da!

So cute!

So cute!

Close-up

Close-up

Front now: much more fitted and flattering

Front now: much more fitted and flattering

No more useless faux flap pockets!

No more useless faux flap pockets!

Side by side comparison: Such an improvement!

Side by side comparison: Such an improvement!

I’ve gotten a bunch of compliments whenever I wear this coat now and I’m so much happier with the fit and cuteness level! 🙂

Project Breakdown:

2.25 inch grosgrain ribbon: $2.99 for the spool at Joann’s.

Dress form, needle, thread and pins: already owned.

Total: $2.99 plus tax (and gas used to drive to Joann’s)

This is a super cheap project if you already have the basic sewing materials. The dress form is completely optional, but EXTREMELY useful!

Happy sewing!

-Yenny

Leave a Reply

