crafting is sanity

DIY or die.

Giant Brown Beanbag Beautification Project

on February 19, 2013

My friend Allen recently bought a giant brown beanbag:

In his words - "it looks like a giant piece of poop."

In his words – “it looks like a giant piece of poop.”

And I couldn’t agree more! (Please excuse the horrible picture quality for this entire post – they were all taken by Allen!) One day, Allen happened to come across this picture:

And he asked me to help make his giant poop beanbag into a more aesthetically pleasing baked potato beanbag. He gave me a budget of $100 and I danced and screamed in joy because this project would definitely NOT cost that much! But it still felt nice to know he was willing to spend that much!

 

Allen is 6’3″ – which mean whatever blanket I planned on making for the “inner part” of the potato would have to cover all of him. It ended up being cheaper for me to go buy a cream colored micro-plush blanket than making it, so that’s what I did! Allen requested a full sized blanket to accommodate him and his girlfriend as well (adorable, right?) šŸ™‚

I got the blanket at Ross – that was the easy part. I went down to the Fabric District and bought 2 yards of yellow cotton and a pillow insert. I made a square cushion pillow – but envelope style so Allen could take it off and wash it.

I didn't think to take a picture of the back :P

I didn’t think to take a picture of the back šŸ˜›

A regular 18 inch pillow insert fit into the square shape perfectly! And here’s the finished product:

Not quite like the inspiration picture but a big improvement!

Not quite like the inspiration picture but a big improvement!

Much better!

Project Breakdown

Giant brown beanbag: $250 (no idea where he got it, but it’s not a LoveSac)

Full sized cream micro-plush blanket from Ross – $12.99

2 yards of yellow cotton ($1.99/yard) – $1.99 (I only used 1 yard)

18 inch pillow insert – $3.00

Total: $21.00 + $250 beanbag

 

Definitely under budget and Allen bought me a meal as a thank you! Yay!

 

Happy crafting!

-Yenny

Leave a Reply

