crafting is sanity

DIY or die.

Blood Orange Panna Cotta

on May 21, 2013

Here again to share another cooking/baking adventure with everyone! I’ve been itching to try to make panna cotta for a while now since it seems pretty easy and is no nice and smooth when you eat it! So a few of my friends and I decided to do a potluck and I volunteered to make panna cotta – more specifically – blood orange panna cotta! Now, I’ve never eaten a blood orange in my life, but the color is just so vibrant and pretty and the fresh cirtus flavor was perfect for the heat wave we were experiencing in L.A.

Aren't they so pretty?

Aren’t they so pretty?

I followed this recipe from Bon Appetit. It was pretty simple and easy to follow! I think the hardest part was the waiting 🙂

Gather your ingredients & tools

Gather your ingredients & tools

I followed the recipe and bought 12 blood oranges (about 2.5 lbs) from Whole Foods but I really only needed about 9. I highly recommend a juicer or else you’ll be squeezing all those oranges by hand and trust me – it gets tiring!

They're just so pretty!

They’re just so pretty!

The insides are gorgeous as well.

The insides are gorgeous as well

As you juice your oranges, you’ll notice that all the pulp starts to clog up your juicer, like so:

Not good for juicing

Not good for juicing

I scooped the pulp out periodically and kept it aside in case I found a use for it (I didn’t). And continued following the recipe.

Here's the panna cotta batter all mixed together and ready to be poured - so pink and cute!

Here’s the panna cotta batter all mixed together and ready to be poured – so pink and cute!

Here's the syrup right after I turned off the heat - it does clarify once it cools down.

Here’s the syrup right after I turned off the heat – it does clarify once it cools down.

The panna cotta all set up and firm!

The panna cotta all set up and firm!

I left them in the fridge overnight to set completely. The recipe makes 6, but since the potluck was only 4 people, I only finished preparing 4 of them.

The syrup is much clearer after it's been cooled

The syrup is much clearer after it’s been cooled

Spoon a small layer of syrup on top

Spoon a small layer of syrup on top

IMG_0286

And garnish with some blood orange slices!

And garnish with some blood orange slices!

IMG_0288

I loved the way they turned out!

I loved the way they turned out!

I did modify the original recipe a little bit. I halved the sugar in the panna cotta itself and in the syrup as well since I prefer desserts to be less sweet. It worked out perfectly! The panna cotta was fresh and tart and the syrup helped to balance it out with the sweetness. And they were a big hit at the potluck!

P.S. I had to transport these about 20 miles on a twisty winding freeway – I highly recommend having a friend help you. I covered each goblet with plastic wrap, put them in a square baking pan and wrapped towels around the base and had my friend hold the entire thing in her lap.

This was probably not the cheapest thing to make for a potluck – mainly because blood oranges tend to be rather pricy and are smaller than regular oranges and so you need more. But it wasn’t difficult to make! Definitely would make this again for a refreshing dessert for hot weather.

-Happy panna cotta making!

Yenny

Leave a Reply

