crafting is sanity

DIY or die.

DIY Burlap & Flower Wreath

on June 19, 2013

It’s finally starting to feel like summer here in Los Angeles! The past few weeks have been a bit of a June gloom, but this week is finally starting to feel warmer and I can see the sunshine winning over the clouds! And I finally felt like making my summer wreath to hopefully keep the sunshine around for the rest of the summer ๐Ÿ™‚

I took my old yarn wreathย and re-used the form to make my new wreath!

I've had this stuck in the back of my closet since I took it off my door

I’ve had this stuck in the back of my closet since I took it off my door

Luckily, the yarn just snipped right off.

Snip snip snip!

Snip snip snip!

I gathered my new supplies:

Burlap and colorful (plastic) flowers

Burlap and colorful (plastic) flowers

I had 2 yards of 45″ burlap and cut rough strips out of it. I didn’t measure, just estimated strips of about 4 inches wide. Then I wrapped the wreath form. It took me 4 strips to get it all covered. I was lazy to plug in my glue gun, so I actually just attached the burlap with straight pins pushed straight through and into the straw form. (Pins like for altering clothes)

All wrapped and ready to go!

All wrapped and ready to go!

Another stroke of luck was that my flowers just separated right from the stem with me just pulling them off!

So easy!

So easy!

All my pretty flowers. So colorful and happy!

All my pretty flowers. So colorful and happy!

I also attached the flowers to the wreath using the same straight pins. (As you can see, this was a very lazy project ๐Ÿ˜› )

I played around with the arrangement, which was easy to do since they were just pinned.

I played around with the arrangement, which was easy to do since they were just pinned.

I found some leftover scrap golden yellow fabric and cut a strip (again, without measuring) and hung it on my door.

Love it!

Love it!

Gratuitous close up shot

Gratuitous close up shot

See my lazy cloth ribbon holding it up?

See my lazy cloth ribbon holding it up?

Project Breakdown:

Wreath form: Re-used, but would cost about $3.00 at craft stores

Burlap: 2 yards at $1.49/yard = $3.00 from L.A.’s Fabric District

Plastic flowers: $0.99 per bouquet from the 99cents store = $2.00

Yellow fabric: already had

Total: $5.00 for me, but around $10.00 if you had to buy the other materials. So, a nice and cheap project!

Happy crafting!

-Yenny

One response to “DIY Burlap & Flower Wreath

  1. […] I gathered some leftover burlap and yellow fabric from my burlap & flower wreath. I really liked how the burlap flowers turned out from here but when I actually tried to make them, […]

Leave a Reply

