crafting is sanity

DIY or die.

Another Canvas Re-do!

on September 17, 2013

I’m back! I had another set of canvasses that I had originally hung in my apartment and later changed my mind. I had used them for my first toilet paper tube art.

The original canvasses

The original canvasses

Then I took them down and hung up my spoon mirrors:

The current decorations

The current decorations

I saved the canvasses and finally got around to re-painting them like I did to make my kitchen art. The steps were pretty much the same:

Step 1: Go to my parents' house and lay out the canvasses for spray painting :)

Step 1: Go to my parents’ house and lay out the canvasses for spray painting 🙂

Step 2: Prime! I think I did 3 light coats of primer to get full coverage

Step 2: Prime! I think I did 3 light coats of primer to get full coverage

I re-used one of the paint pots from my kitchen canvas re-painting – the middle shade, Fall Gold from Lowe’s Olympic Paint Collection.

Step 3: Paint the actual color. I did two coats

Step 3: Paint the actual color. I did two coats for ultra smooth coverage

Step 4: Figure out what I want to paint onto the canvasses. I decided to go with “happy home” since I do love my apartment and if I move, I can take the art with me to my new home!

As you can probably tell, I freehanded this (quite messily)

As you can probably tell, I freehanded this (quite messily)

This is after 3 coats of white paint on the words and

This is after 3 coats of white paint on the words and after I decided to add a heart in the middle.

I added the heart because the words were too far apart and needed something in the middle. I had no idea how it would turn out, but I think it works!

See my messy painting? :P

See my messy painting? 😛

Then I had to wait until my sister could come to my apartment and help me hang the paintings. This is when having a roomie would be SUPER helpful!

I hung them right above my curtains!

I hung them right above my curtains!

Here it is in relation to my toilet paper wallflower art

Here it is in relation to my toilet paper wallflower art

Happy <3 Home! :D

Happy ❤ Home! 😀

I love my new art! I have a couple more pieces of art I need to hang up and share with everyone – but I need a second pair of hands again… All in good time!

Project Breakdown

Canvasses: $7.99 each at Ross

Paint & Primer: Free, already owned

 

Besides the original cost of the canvasses, this project was totally free! And free is my most favorite word in the english language! (no, seriously, it is) I’m starting to run out of wall space to hang art so I guess I’ll have to move on to different crafts soon, but until then – happy crafting!

-Yenny

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

