crafting is sanity

DIY or die.

DIY Fall Wreath

on October 5, 2013

I’m back with another wreath! I think coming up with new wreaths is one of my favorite things to do 🙂 Once again, I just stripped down my current wreath and re-used the wreath form. I bought my wreath form for $1.50 during a Joann’s sale and I’m really getting so much bang for my buck!

Here was my summer wreath:

IMG_0432

I just pulled out all the flowers and kept the burlap as the base. But first, I made a stop at Michael’s for some fall supplies! This is what I came back with:

IMG_0336

A TON of stuff was on sale so I got this 6 foot long strand of leaves, orange ribbon, and a pumpkin head scarecrow figure!

This is what the aisles looked like! So autumny and reduced prices everywhere!

This is what the aisles looked like! So autumny and reduced prices everywhere!

I cut up the leaf strand because it was so much easier to work with that way.

I just placed them around the wreath to make sure I had enough coverage

I just placed them around the wreath to make sure I had enough coverage

I also made sure that the little bunches of berries were evenly spaced out around the wreath.

All glued down!

All glued down!

Hot glue-ing all the leaves down definitely took the longest time. You have to figure out placement and which way the leaves should face and actually getting them to stick without burning your fingertips (which I was not quick enough to avoid lol)

Then came this guy!

Pumpkin head scarecrow!

Pumpkin head scarecrow!

I cut the stick he’s attached to in half and hot glued him in the middle. Then I cut a strip of ribbon, hot glued the ends together (with the wreath in the middle) and ta-da!

All done!

All done!

IMG_0352

Here he is! I used the rest of the stick to brace him against the wreath (you can see the horizontal stick behind him)

Here he is! I used the rest of the stick to brace him against the wreath (you can see the horizontal stick behind him)

IMG_0354

I LOVE this wreath! So fun and fall-like 🙂

Project Breakdown

– Wreath form & hot glue gun – already owned

– Leaf strand – $2.79 (50% off $6.99 original price)

– Ribbon – $2.39 (40% off $3.99 original price)

– Scarecrow figure – $1.69

Total: $6.87 plus tax and a little more if you need the form and hot glue gun

A quick and cheap project to update your front door for fall!

Happy crafting!

-Yenny

Leave a Reply

