crafting is sanity

DIY or die.

Black Bean & Corn Enchiladas

on April 23, 2014

Wow, April has passed by in a flash! I almost forgot that I had made a resolution to post twice a month πŸ™‚ So here’s another food-related post! I seem to be doing more and more of those lately – makes me wonder if I should’ve chosen a different blog name… Oh well!

If you’re like me, then you love Mexican food! It’s probably my second favortite type of cuisine (after Japanese) and I was really craving enchiladas the other day so I decided to make them!

Gather your ingredients

Gather your ingredients

I ended up filling my enchiladas with black beans and corn because 1) I forgot to defrost chicken and 2) even if I had defrosted chicken, I probably would’ve been too lazy to cook it πŸ™‚ Good thing I love vegetarian dishes!

Put your filling about 2/3 of the way on the tortilla

Put your filling about 2/3 of the way on the tortilla

Then roll it tightly and carefully, keeping the filling inside. Put them into a 9×13 baking dish, seam side down.

I fit six enchiladas into my pan

I fit six enchiladas into my pan

Pour the enchilada sauce carefully over the tortillas

Pour the enchilada sauce carefully over the tortillas

Sprinkle some cheese

Sprinkle some cheese

And then I added some corn for good measure

And then I added some corn and red pepper flakes for good measure

I ended up adding more sauce and cheese before I popped it into the oven.

Yummyyyyy

Yummyyyyy

So I made these to take to work for lunch the next day so I didn’t try them right out of the oven. Please excuse the paper plate I ate these on πŸ˜›

So good!

So good!

The black beans, corn and cheese all melted together and created this super creamy and flavorful mixture! I forgot to say that I seasoned the black beans with garlic and chili powder to give it some heat. I also sprinkled a BUNCH of red chili flakes on top for even more heat before baking them. Delicious and leftovers for DAYS! Yum! But it will definitely be a while before I make these again – just too much food! πŸ™‚

Happy cooking!

-Yenny

Leave a Reply

