crafting is sanity

DIY or die.

Turkey & Spinach Tortilla Roll Ups

on May 30, 2014

Happy end of May everyone! I went to a friend’s Memorial Day BBQ on Monday (yay for 3 day weekends!) and since it was potluck style, I decided to make something I’ve been seeing all over Pinterest – tortilla roll ups! I love tortillas and I liked the idea of making something bite sized and didn’t need to stay warm.

Just a few simple ingredients

Just a few simple ingredients

I went with whole wheat tortillas and lower sodium turkey breast to make them healthier than the original recipe called for. Be sure to get the chive and onion cream cheese!

Spread a thin, even layer of the cream cheese on the tortilla

Spread a thin, even layer of the cream cheese on the tortilla

Lay the spinach out

Lay the spinach out

Don’t place your filling all the way to the edges! I learned that when you roll them, everything starts shifting and I ended up having to trim the turkey breast in some places.

It's a little messy, but I wanted turkey in every bite

It’s a little messy, but I wanted turkey in every bite

Roll it up! Make sure to “seal” the edge with some cream cheese so the whole thing stays together.

IMG_1023

IMG_1024

Repeat with all the tortillas. I kinda ran out of turkey breast, so I only ended up using 7 tortillas. Plastic wrap each roll and stick them in the fridge for about 30 minutes so the cream cheese can firm up again.

IMG_1026

Use a sharp knife, and don't saw!! Just press straight down and it should cut cleanly

Use a sharp knife, and don’t saw!! Just press straight down and it should cut cleanly

I had to put some more cream cheese on a few of the edges to seal them more securely. Also, the ends are too ugly/have no filling so I ate them and didn’t bring them to the party 🙂

IMG_1028

I stacked them into a tower!

I stacked them into a tower!

Tower!

Tower!

They were a big hit!

They were a big hit!

I’m pretty happy with the way they turned out! When I make them again, I’d buy more turkey breast and put a double layer of both the spinach and turkey to make fatter roll-ups. The chive and onion cream cheese really made a big difference!

 

Happy cooking and hello summer!

-Yenny

One response to “Turkey & Spinach Tortilla Roll Ups

  1. This is awesome. I am going to try to make these for lunch!

Leave a Reply

