crafting is sanity

DIY or die.

Spicy Garlic Chicken Drumsticks

on July 9, 2014

Happy (belated) 4th of July everyone!! I went to a BBQ at my friend’s house on the 4th because everyone has a BBQ on Independence Day! I made two dishes but this was the first one – spicy garlic chicken drumsticks!

Oh they were sooo good!

Oh they were sooo good!

I was trying to follow Chungah’s recipe from Damn Delicious but ended up making some modifications – mainly, I used chicken drumsticks because I couldn’t find chicken wings at the store (I didn’t think to look in the frozen aisle lol)

Ingredients for the marinade

Ingredients for the marinade

Luckily, all I needed to buy was the honey! Combine them all together

IMG_0085

Then get your chicken prepared –

IMG_0086

I removed all that extra skin and fat before baking it. Arrange the cleaned drumsticks in a single layer in a 9×13 pan.

IMG_0087

I used 12 out of the 14 drumsticks because I didn’t want to overcrowd the pan, but I realized after the dish was done that I totally could’ve fit all 14 drumsticks in! Pour the marinade all over the chicken

IMG_0088

And bake! I set my timer for 25 minutes so I could flip the drumsticks over. This is what it looked like after 25 minutes:

IMG_0089

Turn the chicken over and bake for another 25 minutes. This is what it looks like after!

IMG_0090

The chicken definitely reduced in size, which is why I think I could’ve fit all 14 drumsticks in the pan! =/ I was supposed to broil the chicken for 3-4 minutes but for some reason, my oven won’t turn to broil. So I turned it up to 550 degrees and baked the chicken for 5 more minutes.

The result!

The result!

IMG_0092

It definitely didn’t get as sticky as it was supposed to, but the chicken was moist and flavorful and a big hit at the BBQ! I think the recipe calls for a little too much marinade, since the pan was half full of it (and spilled in my car while I was driving to the BBQ 😦 ) In hindsight, I should’ve poured the sauce into a container and scooped it over the chicken when I got to the BBQ hahah. I’m definitely going to try this recipe again with wings and see if I can replicate the original! Yum!

Happy cooking!

-Yenny

 

 

 

 

 

2 responses to “Spicy Garlic Chicken Drumsticks

  1. Floey says:

    Cute blog and wonderful recipes! 🙂 Thanks for sharing

Leave a Reply

