crafting is sanity

DIY or die.

Summer Vegetable Tian

on October 14, 2014

It’s finally starting to cool down and feel like fall! Even I have to admit it now, especially since I started dragging out extra blankets to snuggle into on these gloomy days =/. My friends and I had an Oktoberfest themed potluck this past weekend, and in my attempt to cling to summer, i decided to make this summer vegetable tian (I don’t know why its called that)

IMG_8069

I adapted the recipe to fit more my taste buds and it turned out really yummy! Start with your ingredients: 1 zucchini, 1 squash, 1 potato, 1 onion, 2 tomatoes, minced garlic and cheese.

IMG_0885

I don’t have a mandolin (and I would be too scared to use it), so I just sliced my veggies thinly and as evenly as I could.

IMG_0886

Dice the onion and saute in a pan with the garlic. I only used half an onion and that was the perfect amount the cover the bottom of my baking dish.

IMG_0888

Then the fun part! Start arranging your veggies in three rows, I did the rows simultaneously and just went according to color and making it look pretty lol.

IMG_0890

 

Then season your dish GENEROUSLY! I used salt, pepper, garlic powder and chili powder and made sure to get them around the edges too.

IMG_0893

Then cover with foil and stick it in the oven for 30 minutes. After the first round of baking, uncover the dish and sprinkle with cheese. Then stick back into the oven for an additional 15-20 minutes. I very lightly sprinkled cheese because I wanted to keep the dish healthier and I’m also lactose intolerant lol.

IMG_0895

 

All done!

IMG_0896

IMG_0897

IMG_0898

After it was done baking, there was a lot of liquid at the bottom of the dish, so I VERY VERY carefully tipped the dish over the sink to drain some of the liquid away. I left some in for flavor. And it turned out the be quite the hit at the potluck! Healthy and yummy! The most time consuming part is the prep 🙂

Happy cooking!

-Yenny

 

 

2 responses to “Summer Vegetable Tian

  1. Arielle says:

    It looks amazing, I love your blog! Your posts are all so beautiful and lovely ❤

Leave a Reply

