crafting is sanity

DIY or die.

Chocolate Raspberry Bundt Cake

on December 16, 2014

It was my friend Kim’s birthday in October and I baked her a Chocolate Raspberry Bundt cake for for birthday dinner! I really wanted to use my new Nordicware Fleur de Lis Bundt Pan so I scoured Pinterest for bundt cake recipes until I found one I liked. I made some slight moderations to the original recipe, but for the most part it stayed the same 🙂

IMG_8285

Start with your ingredients:

IMG_0941

In a bowl, combine the flour, cocoa, salt and baking soda. In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with a paddle attachment, beat the butter and sugar until pale and fluffy. Add the eggs, mixing after each, and stir in the vanilla. Add the dry ingredients in 3 additions, alternating with the buttermilk, scraping down the bowl as needed.

I always reduce the amount of sugar I use and instead of buying buttermilk (I can never use the whole carton) I buy regular milk and make buttermilk by adding lemon juice to curdle it. Grease and flour your bundt pan WELL so your cake doesn’t get stuck inside. Since the pan is pretty ornate, I was super careful to spray and flour all the nooks and crannies.

IMG_0943

It was only after I baked my cake that I realized I had OVERgreased and floured the pan 😦 Anyways, add a little batter, make sure it gets into the tips of the designs.

IMG_0944

The original recipe doesn’t call for raspberries in the middle of the cake, but I decided to chop some up and sprinkle them in

IMG_0945

Then I scooped more batter, another layer of chopped raspberries and then the final layer of batter.

IMG_0946

Then I popped it into the oven to bake! I put it in for 55 minutes and I think my cake was a little dry, I probably would take this out at 48-50 minutes (or even less) because the carryover heat will continue to bake it. In the meantime, I really wanted to make a raspberry syrup for the cake. I decided to use raspberry jam but I couldn’t find seedless jam so I had to STRAIN it to get it how I wanted it. I don’t recommend this lol.

IMG_0947

IMG_0948

IMG_0949

I made about a cup of the syrup before I got tired and gave up 😛 Time to take the cake out of the oven!

IMG_0951

Definitely puffed up! I pushed this as flat as I could before flipping it over. Cake came out very smoothly BUT

IMG_8288

Do you see how the edges are yellow? THAT is too much butter and flour! Lesson learned – don’t go overboard with the cooking spray hahaha

IMG_8280

Spoon the syrup over the cake. After doing this, I thought it kinda looked like blood… so I added fresh raspberries and some powdered sugar to make it look prettier!

IMG_8285

I’m MUCH happier with the way this looks!

IMG_8297

All lit up for the birthday girl!

IMG_8306

Happy birthday Kim!

Kim also has a really awesome food blog and is a MUCH better baker than I am! Go check out her recipes!

Happy baking!

-Yenny

2 responses to “Chocolate Raspberry Bundt Cake

  1. Arielle says:

    Oh wow it looks so delicious!! ❤

Leave a Reply

