crafting is sanity

DIY or die.

Martha Stewart’s Chocolate Coconut Bars (Samoa Bars)

on March 11, 2015

Although it’s not officially Spring yet, we did just “spring” forward for Daylight Savings Time! And it’s Girl Scout cookie season, yay! Although Girl Scout cookies are delicious, my favorites are the Lemonades and Tagalongs – their Samoas seem to be one of the most popular ones! So this month, I tried two different Samoa Bar recipes – one definitely turned out better than the other. I tried this Martha Stewart recipe, and although it was yummy, it didn’t quite capture the flavor of a Samoa.

IMG_1045Start with your ingredients:

IMG_1020

Yes, yes I know this looks like an advertisement for generic brands, but I’m a big believer in generic brands! πŸ˜€ The recipe calls for a 15×10 inch rimmed pan, but I don’t have one and after reading the comments on the original post, I decided to use a 9×13 inch pan and it worked great!

IMG_1033

Make the base using graham cracker crumbs (I used one sleeve of crackers), sugar and butter. Bake at 375 for 10 minutes. Let the cookie base cool before adding toppings. So this is where I started diverging from the recipe a little, haha πŸ™‚

IMG_1034

Crunch the pecans into smaller pieces and toast them in a pan while the crust is baking. Once the crust has cooled, drizzled some condensed milk so the toppings have something to stick to.

IMG_1035

Then start adding the pecans and chocolate chips. Please excuse the crappy iPhone pics, my camera was out of battery 😦

IMG_1040

I actually did two rounds of pecans and chocolate chips and then I drizzled more condensed milk over that. then top with some coconut flakes:

IMG_1043

Stick back into the oven for 10-15 minutes, until the coconut has toasted.

IMG_1046

I cut them into rectangular bars at work, but then they ended up being too big so I cut them into squares.

IMG_9008

IMG_9009

Although this recipe was relatively easy (except for the stickiness of the condensed milk), it didn’t really taste like a Samoa to me. There wasn’t that caramel-y flavor and the coconut wasn’t very incorporated with the bar, so it made for some messy eating, whoops! I wish the toppings had come together a little better. I do like the second Samoa bar recipe I tried much better so stay tuned for that post later this month!

Happy baking!

-Yenny

Leave a Reply

