crafting is sanity

DIY or die.

Samoa Shortbread Bars

on March 29, 2015

Welcome to part 2 of my Samoa cookie recipe comparison! After my first try, I wasn’t super satisfied with the results so I browsed Pinterest for another recipe to try and came upon this Samoa Shortbread Bar recipe 🙂 I was much happier with the results!

IMG_9969

Please excuse all the terrible iPhone pics – I made these bars in a rush 😛 Start with your ingredients for the shortbread:

IMG_9945Combine them together to make a dough-

IMG_9948

IMG_9949

And press into the bottom of a 9×13 pan. Bake at 350 degrees for 20-25 minutes.

IMG_9950Meanwhile, start toasting your coconut flakes until they’re nicely golden brown.

IMG_9947

IMG_9951

And now for the sticky part – melting the caramel! I don’t like melting in my microwave and I don’t have metal or glass mixing bowls to make a double boiler, so I generally do this method of putting ceramic bowls in a pan of water and boiling it lol.

IMG_9953

It took about 13 minutes to melt the caramel down to the consistency I needed.

IMG_9955

Then mix with the toasted coconut

IMG_9957

And spread it evenly over the baked shortbread. Press the topping down onto the shortbread to make sure it really sticks together.

IMG_9956

IMG_9959

Wait for everything to cool a little and then cut it. I used a large knife but even then the shortbread crumbled a bit and I broke some pieces 😦 But it was fixable! Now it’s time to make the chocolate part! Melt the chocolate in the same way as the caramels (or something easier if that’s available to you)

IMG_9966

I used a spoon to smear the chocolate on the bottom of each bar and put them on parchment paper.

IMG_9967

And instead of drizzling the chocolate on top, I just kinda smeared the tops with some chocolate too 🙂

IMG_9968

I ended up cutting each bar in half to make smaller pieces. With some of the pieces that broke, I used the chocolate sauce to “glue” them back together, and it mostly worked! And I liked this recipe much more than the first one I tried. Big hit! 🙂

Happy baking~!

Yenny

Leave a Reply

