crafting is sanity

DIY or die.

Green Velvet Mini Cupcakes

on April 13, 2015

Another belated post! I made these green velvet mini cupcakes for St. Patrick’s Day and they turned out super cute!

IMG_0177

I searched Pinterest very thoroughly for “green desserts” and I liked the green velvet cupcake idea the best. This is the recipe I used, but cut in half! Half of the recipe still made about 30 minis – perfect amount to bring into work šŸ™‚ Start with your ingredients:

IMG_1235

I had most of the ingredients already and I just had to pick up the green food coloring, mini cupcake liners and the green sprinkles. I was slightly obsessed with finding green sprinkles that weren’t sugar sprinkles so I ended up going to two different Ralph’s, Party City and a Michael’s before I went to Surfas, which is a restaurant supply store near where I live. Of course, they had the perfect green sprinkles! They were however, in a bulk jar -_____- but still cheap! Roughly $3 for a big jar. Too bad I don’t know what to do with all the leftover sprinkles now…

Anyways! Mix together your dry ingredients~ I added an extra scoop of cocoa powder to make it more chocolatey šŸ™‚

IMG_1236Then mix your wet ingredients in a separate bowl

IMG_1237

Then dump the green food coloring in!! I think I used a little over half the bottle. Be careful, because it WILL stain your fingers and your kitchen table…

IMG_1238

Then pour this lovely green mixture into your dry ingredients and combine to make a batter!

IMG_1239Now you’re ready to pour and bake! I got these super cute gold foil mini cupcake liners at Michael’s because I wanted them to look like little pots of gold! (At one point I considered buying rainbow sprinkles to make my life easier and to have the whole rainbow and pot of gold thing going :P)

IMG_1240

Aren’t they cute?? Now fill each liner about 2/3 of the way

IMG_1242

They were such a pretty green before baking! But after they were done, they looked like this…

IMG_1245

IMG_1246

So cute! Now it’s time to frost! My cream cheese frosting is SUPER simple – just mix cream cheese with powdered sugar! I just add a little bit of sugar at a time until I like the taste hahah šŸ™‚ I also made wayyyyyy too much frosting! I should’ve just used 1 block of cream cheese instead of 2. Oh well šŸ˜›

IMG_1248

I don’t have piping bags so I frost with a ziploc bag and cut the tip off to the width I prefer, like so

IMG_1251

Then I just squeeze the bag as I rotate the cupcake around. Start in the center and just spin the cupcake around until you get enough frosting on there šŸ™‚

IMG_1253

IMG_1252

Some turned out nicer than others, but they’re so cute! Then its time for sprinkles!! Whee!

IMG_1255

IMG_1256

I tried not to waste too many sprinkles on the table šŸ˜›

IMG_1260

Then I placed them very carefully and neatly on my cake carrier tray and put them in the fridge overnight before taking them to work! I find that keeping them in the fridge makes them moister and hardens the frosting just a little so transport is a little easier šŸ™‚

IMG_0177

IMG_0181

IMG_0184

So green inside!! These were a hit at the office and the mini size really encouraged people to take multiples šŸ™‚ They were really fun to make, even though I now have a surplus of green sprinkles lol šŸ˜›

Hope everyone had a happy St. Patrick’s Day!

Happy baking!

-Yenny

Leave a Reply

