crafting is sanity

DIY or die.

DIY Hydrangea Wreath

on April 19, 2015

Wow, 6 days later and I’m back with my second post of the month! This has got to be some sort of record for me! I finally got around to making my spring-summer wreath and hanging it up! Surprisingly, this one didn’t take long at all – probably 30 minutes or less, it just took me a long time to get around to do it 😛

IMG_1349

Isn’t it pretty? 😀 The only things I had to buy were the hydrangeas, everything else I already had in my craft box.

IMG_1338

The wreath form that I’ve used and reused over and over again, white cloth leftover from a costume I helped my friend make, and four bunches of fake flowers. I bought three hydrangeas and the one bunch of blue flowers, but I ended up not using the blue flowers haha

IMG_1339I cut the fabric into strips that were roughly 8-9 inches wide. Kind of an arbitrary width and I just eyeballed it.

IMG_1340

Then I folded each strip in half lengthwise and wrapped it around the wreath form (and securing with hot glue) until I ended up with this:

IMG_1341

Kinda like a mummy! I plucked all the flowers off the stems are started arranging to see what looked best.

IMG_1344

IMG_1345

I used some yarn to tie the hydrangeas to the wreath form.

IMG_1346

Then I hot glued the little green leaves (from the unused blue flowers) to the sides to finish it off! Being lazy, I used some green yarn from my craft box to fashion a loop to hang the wreath from 🙂

IMG_1349

IMG_1350

IMG_1351

So pretty and fluffy and happy!! I’m extremely happy with the way the wreath turned out and just really hope the white fabric doesn’t get too dirty! 😛 It only cost $4 too! The flowers were from the 99cents store and i already had everything else 🙂

Happy crafting!

-Yenny

Leave a Reply

